Défilés / FW/Model LifeStyle

How are castings going during Fashion Week

The fashion month season started in New York. Many of you have wondered how my castings went, what it’s all about, how I’m trying to handle them, and other lots of questions.
So it’s normal that I take the opportunity to write an article about it.

img_0069

Before starting the castings of the fashion week, we ask ourselves a lot of questions, more or less distressing lol! In fact we are aware that we will be judge on our ability to sell / highlight the clothes. So that necessarily includes our physics, our approach and our energy. All models are often super stressed during this period.

HOW’S IT GOING ?

The day before the first day of castings, the agency sends a list of customers to meet. Generally this list corresponds to all the casting directors who wish to meet us for shows bookings. These castings are open only the next day and so on, during all the fashion week, we will receive the castings for the next day … so you understand why we have no life during this period of shows. I was supposed to have dinner or a drink with friends in New York and London … impossible because my schedule kept changing.

HOW I PREPARE MYSELF FOR CASTINGS?

Generally I try to find out about the clients I am going to meet. If I also have appointments with new casting directors, I will check their CV on models.com or on Google. In addition, I will necessarily think about my outfit: it’s super important! I stay in my style; I like the pants and I don’t hesitate to put on wide pants. I’m just careful to have a simple style, modern and with a little pep. Basically I stay myself but with a touch of high fashion if possible. I allow myself this today because I have a little more confidence than when I started; I always went with black jeans and a black tank top hahahaha !

DO I WEAR MAKEUP?

During fashion week, I don’t wear makeup unless I really have dark circles … it is not at all advisable to wear makeup simply because during a casting, the people who are there, as per example stylists may ask you to try on clothes. I advise you to avoid trying them with makeup on lol!

HOW DO I BEHAVE BEFORE A CASTING DIRECTOR OR A CLIENT?

To be honest, I can’t answer that question! I don’t think I have enough experience to give you a precise answer. The thing is, every client and every casting director is different; I advise you to be as natural as possible, basically to be yourself. It’s useless to do too much I think it could be seen and therefore play to your detriment.
Sometimes when I feel that the client is pretty cool, when I can talk quietly with him, I may ask him for more details about the type of walk he wants for example or ask other questions .

I HOPE THAT I HAVE ANSWERED YOUR QUESTIONS 🙂

2 réflexions sur “How are castings going during Fashion Week

Les commentaires sont fermés.